Genre Nexus - We Get Entertainment 1701 News |  Airlock Alpha

[?]

Twitter Facebook RSS Feed

BAFTA Los Angeles To Honor Benedict Cumberbatch

Body of work, including Khan, led to award

The man who has played Khan Noonien Singh, Sherlock Holmes and the voice of Smaug is finally earning a special honor from the Los Angeles branch of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts.

Benedict Cumberbatch is set to receive the group’s British Artist of the Year, part of its annual Britannia Awards that airs on BBC America.

“Benedict Cumberbatch has had a remarkable year, and as one of the U.K.’s leading talents, he truly exemplifies the continued respect that British talents have garnered around the globe,” said Gary Dartnall, chairman of BAFTA Los Angeles, in a release. “Masterfully performing in TV, film and theater, and never failing to astound us with his talent and versatility, BAFTA Los Angeles is proud to honor Benedict as our British Artist of the Year.”

Cumberbatch, of course, played Khan in this year’s “Star Trek: Into Darkness,” which earned just less than $463 million in worldwide box office, according to The Numbers. In 2013 alone, Cumberbatch has also appeared (or will appear) in the Fox series “The Simpsons,” “12 Years a Slave” from director Steve McQueen, as Wikileaks founder Julian Assange in “The Fifth Estate,” and of course, will be in the second movie in The Hobbit series.

“The brilliance, intelligence and charisma of rising star Benedict Cumberbatch has secured his place among the acclaimed British actors who have commanded the screen over the years,” said Rebecca Segal and Deborah Kolar, co-chairwomen of the Britannia Awards, in a release.

British Artist of the Year pays tribute to a talented British artist whose outstanding performances in a year have demonstrated the high quality of the artist’s craftsmanship. Prior recipients include Daniel Craig, Kate Winslet, Tilda Swinton, Helena Bonham Carter, Emily Blunt, Michael Sheen and Rachel Weisz.

The awards will be handed out Nov. 9 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, and will air Nov. 10 at 8 p.m. ET as a two-hour special on BBC America.

Also set to be honored that night are George Clooney, Kathryn Bigelow and Ben Kingsley.

Cumberbatch has been honored in the past with four BAFTA nominations — two for “Sherlock,” and others for “Small Island” in 2010 and “Hawking” in 2005. He has also been nominated for two Emmys, including a nomination this year for HBO’s “Parade’s End.”

Source: 1701News

About the Author
Michael Hinman is the founder and editor-in-chief for 1701News, Airlock Alpha and the entire GenreNexus. He owns Nexus Media Group Inc., the parent corporation of the GenreNexus, and a co-founder of 1701News. He lives in Tampa, Fla.

You might also like:

Genre Nexus Community

Visit our forums